Archive: May 2014

  1. ZI 2014 AE fellows at May 2014 ZCT luncheon

    Comments Off on ZI 2014 AE fellows at May 2014 ZCT luncheon

    2 Florida State University engineering students and 2014 AE fellowship winners were guestsnat our Tallahassee Club May lunch meeting.  Jin Yan(District 11) from China and Puja Upadhyay (District 25)from Nepal

    L to R: Jin Yan_Puja Upadhyay, newly chosen Amelia Earhart Fello

  2. Zonta Club of Sanibel-Captiva installs new officers

    Comments Off on Zonta Club of Sanibel-Captiva installs new officers


    Members of the Zonta Club of Sanibel-Captiva gathered recently at the home of Linda Robison, club member and Zonta Area 6 Director, where Robison formally installed the leadership for the club year 2014-2015, which begins June 1.

    During the past year, the club has moved to combine two boards – that of the club and that of the Zonta Foundation of Southwest Florida, the club’s 501(c)(3) – for simpler administration and record-keeping.  For the first time, the members of the club board (most of the officers plus the members-at-large) will also function as the Foundation board, with the exception of the positions of secretary and treasurer, which are each unique to that board.  A seat on the Foundation board is also reserved for a representative from the Zonta Club of Fort Myers.

    Incoming President Robyn Moran presented outgoing President Kris Ritts with an etched vase by Luc Century, and commented humorously that, with the hard work of merging the boards behind them, Zontians can look forward to a year “with nothing to do.”  For this busy and award-winning club that raised over $100,000 from its recent fundraiser, A Peek at the Unique, that is the least likely of all outcomes.

    Pictured are (rear, from L):  Robyn Moran, President; Lynn Ridlehoover, Vice President; Kris Ritts, club Treasurer and club Past President, ex officio; Barbara Beran; Carol Gestwicki, Jill Janda-Kanner, Area 6 director Linda Robison, and Karen Storjohann (Foundation Past President, ex officio).

    Front (from L):  Susan Tucker (Foundation Treasurer); Gini Jones (President-elect); Dalia Jakubauskas; Ruth Mayer; and Maddy Mayor (Foundation Secretary).

    Not pictured:  Ava Hinojosa (club Secretary); Helen Ramsey; and Marietta Meacham (Foundation board, Zonta Club of Fort Myers.

    The Zonta Club of Sanibel/Captiva is a service organization of professional women working together to provide hands-on assistance, advocacy and funds to strengthen women’s lives on the islands, in Lee County and around the world through Zonta International:  visit